AFK – Pacific Front Sessions: July 2009

This penultimate edition of Pacific Front Sessions starts off truly downtempo with a new track from The Last Atlant. The melody meanders into G-Pal’s downtempo-breaks remix of Sunset Blvd who they hear a train coming – which is in fact Kasey Taylor’s remix of Wombat. Wombat’s “Helo” starts off chugging like a locomotive leaving the train station, picking up speed and delivering at our destination just in time for Spooky’s new weird one, “Eypes Mouth.” Weird but good, which is what I’ve come to expect from the duo of May/Forbes. Matt Rowan and Robbie Lowe are up next with a crunchy, tech-break house track called Ground Swell. This is followed up by “Tears on the Leaf,” one of my favourite tracks of the year – beautiful production and melody. Dousk’s complete gem of a track, “Chrysalis,” comes next with an outstanding breakdown, and Luke Chable delivers a brand new progressive monster (it’s about time!) in the form of “Pressure.” Great to hear Mr. Chable back into production – his sound has been missed. Steve Porter’s “Don’t Be Afrayed” takes the mix in a bit of a funkier and dancier direction before transitioning into a classic track by Lexos called “The Key.” Finally, a rare remix of Planet Funk’s “Chase The Sun” finishes things off in style with some melodic vocal progressive breaks.


  1. The Last Atlant – Anima Mundi (Original mix) [Platipus]
  2. Sunset Blvd – Train Comin (G-Pal Downtempo remix) [Klik Records]
  3. Wombat – Helo (Kasey Taylor remix) [Open Records]
  4. Spooky – Eypes Mouth (Lyme Bay Version) [Platipus]
  5. Matt Rowan and Robbie Lowe – Ground Swell (Original mix) [Proton Music]
  6. Kostas Skretas – Tears On The Leaf (Claes Rosen remix) [Dark Pleasure Records]
  7. Dousk – Chrysalis (Album version) [Klik Records]
  8. Luke Chable – Pressure (Original mix) [Neon Records]
  9. Steve Porter – Don’t Be Afrayed (Original mix) [PH Recordings]
  10. Lexos – The Key (Adam Dived No Vox) [Bang On!]
  11. Planet Funk – Chase The Sun (Future Perfect’s SunFunk mix) [Unreleased]
Download: AFK – Pacific Front Sessions: July 2009 (mp3)

Right click and Save As, or option-click the link on a Mac to automatically download

Join the Conversation


  1. Some of these tracks were definitely played at Soundwave! Tracks 6 and 8 for example. My Soundwave set went something like this:
    Joel Armstrong – Hey Hey Hey (Bastards of Funk and Sonic Union remix)
    Rennie Foster – Devil’s Water (The Youngsters remix)
    AFK & Dustin H – Seismic (Shiloh remix)
    Jaytech – Groove Nova (Oliver Smith Tech mix)
    Bedrock – Santiago (St. James remix)
    Fine Taste – My Golden Parachute
    Sudha featuring Zoe Johnston – Leche (Thomas Schwartz and Fausto Fanizza Vocal mix)
    Shiloh – Cafe Del Mariachi (Nick Warren remix)
    John Morgan and Kevin Shiu – 8 Feet Under (AFK’s Overkill remix)
    Luke Chable – Pressure
    Gill Norris – Forme (Shiloh and Micah’s Shatterfist remix)
    AFK & Dustin H – The Morning Star (AFK Blue Star Dub)
    Gary Jules – Mad World (Stefan’s Journey into Madness remix)
    Last track (unmixed):
    Kostas Skretas – Tears On The Leaf (Claes Rosen remix)

  2. Enjoyed the beginning track so far! Great energy and build-up… I have still yet to listen to the rest of it, but I have it on my headphones for the rest of the afternoon at work today! 🙂
    Congrats on your release!

Leave a comment