Moved from MovableType to WordPress

Tonight, I moved this site from MovableType to WordPress.

The transition is a bit ridiculous and easy. WordPress has made a mockery of the MovableType installation process – there is pretty much no comparison.

The first time I considered moving away from MovableType was when the owners of the company (6apart) started charging for personal blogging licenses. That was obviously a mistake – and it was around that time that WordPress was taking off. All WordPress needed at the time was users and 6apart provided the perfect impetus for MovableType users to make a mass exodus to WordPress by charging the very users who helped build MovableType itself.

I was an exception because I had other things to do at the time besides install a new blogging system. The repeated trauma of installing MovableType made the idea of installing and moving fairly unappealing. I was happy to skip that idea.

Over the years, MovableType has been adequate in many regards, inadequate in many others. One of the most glaring examples lately has been the lack of an app for the blogging system itself, and the lack of commitment by the company that owns the platform to develop for it. It had a good run. It’s over.

Update: Some trickery was required to swap from the subdomain for installation – 1-click installation has to occur on a domain which has no files existing within it (for whatever reason.) Had to reinstall and reconnect the DB this morning – even though it was working last night.

AFK – Nothing But You And The Beat

This is a mix that gets away from the popular dance floors and ventures far into the underground. Something you might listen to on a walk near the ocean, or a drive on a long windy road, or who knows. This mix is a soundtrack for a place far away from the maddening crowds. This is a mix that started in April, and finished in the beginning November – this would be the result of my latest efforts.

The samples in this mix – the vocal samples – are from Mad Men and The Walking Dead. Points to whomever can pinpoint individual episodes which each are from.
That is all.


  1. Stiven Rivic, Michael & Levan – Leap Of Faith [Mistiquemusic]
  2. Stefan Anion – Strangers [Silk Digital Records]
  3. Christian Smith – Milky Way [Tronic]
  4. Sasha – Mongoose (Guy J remix) [emFire]
  5. GMJ – New Dawn (Kasey Taylor’s Rainbow Serpent remix) [Vapour]
  6. Cid Inc. – Magnify (Quivver remix)[AfterImage Recordings]
  7. Pako and Frederik – Western Approaches (Evolution remix) [Coded]
  8. Hybrid – Blind Side (Hybrid Soundsystem remix) [Kill City Records]
  9. Micah – Begin Again (Faskil remix) [Polytechnic Recordings]
  10. Dibby Dougherty and David Young – Hydra Island (Cid Inc. remix) [Mirabilis Records]
  11. Pryda – Human Behavior [Pryda Recordings]
  12. Solarity – Tape Pack [Anjunadeep]
  13. Abstract Vision and Elite Electronic – Echoes (Protoculture remix) [Enhanced Digital]
  14. Andrew Bayer – From The Earth [Anjunabeats]
Download: AFK – Nothing But You And The Beat (mp3)

Right click and Save As, or option-click the link on a Mac to automatically download